rate this page

Swimmers mop up at 2008 sports awards

Not surprisingly it was swimming - spearheaded by Beijing Gold medallists Rebecca Adlington and Sam Hynd - which dominated the 2008 Mansfield Sports Recognition awards last night (15 December).

Rebecca and Sam scooped the evening's premier awards - the Amateur Sportsperson of the year and Disabled Sportsperson of the year respectively, whilst fellow swimmer and London 2012 hopeful Dan Mills won Junior Sportsperson of the year.

Super swimmers Rebecca Adlington, Dan Mills and Sam Hynd with Executive Mayor Tony Egginton

Glenn Smith, Mansfield District Council's Swimming Development Officer and coach to Sam Hynd was awarded Coach of the year whilst fast-improving young swimmer Ben Rees scooped Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the year.

In team sports, local football was also a winner, with Peafield Lane School's 7-a-side team - who won the English Schools U-11 Final at Wembley Stadium - winning Junior Team of the year and Glapwell FC winning Amateur Team of the year.

Two members of the backroom team at Mansfield Harriers Athletic Club were also honoured, with Steve Grainger winning Volunteer of the year and a Special Achievement award going to John Thomlinson who is still helping the club on a regular basis at the grand-old age of 80.

Record numbers attended this year's ceremony, with over 250 guests turning out to honour an amazing year for Mansfield sport. Rebecca thrilled her army of fans by staying on after the event to sign autographs and pose for pictures.

Executive Mayor Tony Egginton presented the awards. He said: "At the start of 2008 we could never have imagined what an incredible year 2008 would be for sport in Mansfield. Mansfield athletes bought back an incredible haul of five medals from the Olympics and Paralympics - which is more than many countries!

"The Sports recognition awards are a great end to an historic year - recognising the magnificent achievements of individuals and teams at all levels.

Rebecca Adlington receives the Amateur Sportsperson of the year award from Mayor Egginton

"The stunning feats of Rebecca and Sam in particular can act as an inspiration to others and we are already seeing that come to fruition with more Mansfield sporting stars of the future coming to the fore and an upsurge in interest in local sport and at local clubs."

Further details about all the winners at the Sports Recognition Awards can be found be clicking on the links on this page.

The 2008 roll of honour:

John Thomlinson picks up the Special Achievement award from Mayor Egginton

Junior Team of the Year: Peafield Lane School 7-a-side football team. Also nominated: Mansfield Girls Table Tennis team; Mansfield Boys Table Tennis team; St Phillip Neri Netball team; Mansfield Stars under-14 Basketball team;

Junior Sportsperson of the Year: Dan Mills (Swimming). Also nominated: David Hall (Athletics); Heidi Gregory (Swimming); Emily Witts (Badminton); Christie Childs (Athletics); Ryan Childs (Athletics)

Junior Sports Leader of the Year: Sian Fletti (All Saints RC School). Also nominated: Brad Wright (Manor Comprehensive School); Dominic Groves (Meden Comprehensive School); Jessica Poole (All Saints RC School); Sarah Wood (All Saints RC School); Alex Robson (All Saints RC School); Sophie Bevan (All Saints RC School); Claire Pickersgill (All Saints RC School); Nicole Martin (All Saints RC School); Kimberley Carroll (All Saints RC School); Lauren Kinsley (All Saints RC School).

Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year: Ben Rees (Swimming).

Amateur Team of the Year: Glapwell FC. Also nominated: Mansfield Harriers under-20 National Junior Team.

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year: Sam Hynd (Swimming). Also nominated: Charlotte Henshaw (Swimming); Chris Martin (Discus).

Coach of the Year: Glenn Smith (Swimming). Also nominated: Richard Massey (Athletics); Dave Goodhall (Badminton).

Volunteer of the Year: Steve Grainger (Mansfield Harriers). Also nominated: Steve Garner (Mansfield Harriers); Graham Wilkinson (Mansfield Harriers); John Thomlinson (Mansfield Harriers); Barry Holmes (Mansfield Harriers); Gail Hicks (Mansfield Giants Basketball); Amy Yuill (Mansfield Giants Basketball); Julie Revill (Mansfield Half Marathon); Pat Carlan (Mansfield Harriers).

Amateur Sportsperson of the Year: Rebecca Adlington (Swimming). Also nominated: Phil Beniston (Powerlifting); Saffron Norris (Tae Kwon Do).

Special Achievement Award: John Thomlinson (Mansfield Harriers).

The MDC site uses cookies to improve functionality and collect anonymous user data for analytics purposes.

Do not show this message again

Read more about our cookies

This page was last modified 10/12/2013 09:27:03

Website URL : http://www.mansfield-dc.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=2588